CASPIAN GOLD: CAVIAR AS IT IS
RULE №3
Champagne or vodka?

Caviar creates a festive atmosphere wherever it appears. Choosing a proper drink for it is much easier than guessing the intricacies of the dress code for an event where caviar is to be served: A5C or Black Tie Creative?

The variants are quite limited: ice-cold vodka, Champagne more or less dry, light white wine

Black caviar is savored much like exquisite wines are. Although as contrasted to Champaign – the true one from Champagne – caviar does not have a brand name. Nevertheless, the origins affect the taste of caviar much like Cabernet from California differs from French grapes. (Just don’t you dare serving caviar with Cabernet! It was just a handy example.)

True connoisseurs heatedly discuss the finest nuances of the caviar taste enjoying the refined bouquet of sensations.

The choice of a beverage is a matter of taste both in a literal and figurative sense

The purists would rather omit Champaign and take a frozen shot of vodka. There are gastrologists who order shot glasses made entirely of ice for their shows instead of placing usual glassware into ice pellets.

What is the best choice for caviar, anyway? Each and every sommelier has his or her opinion on that matter, and a rigorous opinion at that. Would you heed to their advice or not is your choice.

Vodka is a wonderful companion for caviar

And the most traditional as well, for the best sorts of both caviar and vodka originate from Russia. Eminent brands of vodka are valued for their absolute aroma and clean profile, and those are the best traits helping to unfold the taste of caviar. Well cooled vodka becomes a bit ropy, it caresses your palate and perfectly punctuates the grainy texture. It makes the distinct taste of caviar a prevailing one, which is, by chance, our aim. Vodka is best cooled long – 4 hours at least, and better a full night. It may be stored in the freezer for as long as you wish: it would not freeze just become ropy as syrup.

The Champagne bubbles are well combined with fish-eggs

They are alike in velvetiness and, so to say, mineralness. Although Champaigne has its own flavor it is usually not as pronounced as to suppress the delicate taste of caviar. Just choose a dry one! Blanc de blanc solely from white grapes of Chardonnay that is considered the most exclusive sort in the three famous regions of Champagne is your choice for it gives less fruit notes. Brut is even better: no sugar to hamper your savoring the tiniest nuances of the taste of caviar.

CASPIAN GOLD: ИКРА КАК ЕСТЬ
Правило №3
Шампанского или водки?

Икра создаёт праздник везде, где появляется. Выбрать сопровождающий её напиток намного легче, чем разгадывать тонкости дресс-кода в приглашении на вечер, где подают икру: A5С или Black Tie Creative?

Варианты наперечёт: ледяная водка, шампанское разной степени сухости, лёгкое белое вино

Чёрную икру смакуют подобно изысканным винам. Хотя в отличие от шампанского — из Шампани, разумеется — икра сама по себе брендового наименования не имеет. Происхождение влияет на вкус икры: так Каберне из Калифорнии отличается от французского винограда. (Не вздумайте подавать к икре Каберне! Сказано для примера).

Знатоки с пристрастием обсуждают тончайшие нюансы вкуса икры, наслаждаясь букетом ощущений.

Выбор напитка и есть вопрос вкуса, в переносном смысле и в прямом

Ревнители чистоты традиций предпочитают шампанскому водку из замороженной стопки. Некоторые кулинары на своих шоу даже заказывают стопки целиком изо льда, а не просто погружают стеклянную или хрустальную посуду для подачи в ледяную крошку.

И всё же что выбрать в дополнение к икре? У каждого сомелье своё мнение на сей счёт, подчас категоричное. Следовать ли таким советам — дело ваше.

Водка отличный компаньон для икры

И самый традиционный, поскольку самые лучшие сорта икры и водки родом из России. Выдающиеся водочные марки ценят за их беспримесный аромат и чистый профиль, а это естественный способ раскрыть вкус икры. Хорошо охлаждённая водка становится слегка тягучей, ласкает нёбо и наилучшим образом оттеняет зернистость. С нею отчётливый вкус икры начинает превалировать, чего мы и добиваемся. Охлаждайте водку не менее четырёх часов, а лучше — с вечера. В морозильной камере её можно хранить сколь угодно долго: она не застынет, а станет густой, как сироп.

Пузырьки шампанского по текстуре отлично сочетаются с икринками

Их роднит бархатистость и — как бы это сказать? — минеральность. И хотя у шампанского есть свой привкус, обычно он не столь явно выражен, чтобы перебить деликатный вкус икры. Выбирайте только сухое! Blanc de blanc исключительно из белого винограда сорта Шардоне, наиболее престижного в трёх известных регионах Шампани — он даёт меньше фруктовых нот. Брют ещё лучше: никакого сахара, чтобы распознать тончайшие оттенки икорного вкуса.